University of Minnesota
University Relations
myU OneStop

Go to unit's home.

Home | Seminars and Symposia | Past seminars/symposia: Monday, May 2, 2016

DTC Seminar Series

Distributed Limited Feedback Beamforming in Cooperative Wireless Networks


Hamid Jafarkhani
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
University of California, Irvine

Monday, May 2, 2016
4:00 p.m. reception
4:30 p.m. seminar

401/402 Walter Library

We argue the need for cooperative wireless networks and discuss the existing methodologies. Our emphasis is on the distributed nature of the network and the need for simultaneous transmission from different users. We address the role of interference in such a distributed network and the corresponding challenges in designing reliable systems.

In addition, we discuss the role of limited feedback in designing distributed beamforming methods and show that in many cases, a few bits of variable-length feedback can achieve the gains of a system with perfect unquantized channel information.


Hamid Jafarkhani is a Chancellor's Professor at the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of California, Irvine, where he is also the Director of Center for Pervasive Communications and Computing and the Conexant-Broadcom Endowed Chair.

Dr. Jafarkhani ranked first in the nationwide entrance examination of Iranian universities in 1984. He was a co-recipient of the American Division Award of the 1995 Texas Instruments DSP Solutions Challenge. He received an NSF Career Award in 2003. He received the UCI Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research in 2006 and the School of Engineering Fariborz Maseeh Best Faculty Research Award in 2007. Also, he was a co-recipient of the 2002 best paper award of ISWC, the 2006 IEEE Marconi Best Paper Award in Wireless Communications, the 2009 best paper award of the Journal of Communications and Networks, the 2012 IEEE Globecom best paper award (Communication Theory Symposium), the 2013 IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award, and the 2014 IEEE Communications Society Award for Advances in Communication. He was a Distinguished Lecturer for IEEE Communications Society.

He is listed as a highly cited researcher in According to the Thomson Scientific, he is one of the top 10 most-cited researchers in the field of computer science during 1997-2007. He is a Fellow of AAAS, an IEEE Fellow, and the author of the book Space-Time Coding: Theory and Practice.