University of Minnesota
University Relations
myU OneStop

Go to unit's home.

Home | Seminars and Symposia | Past seminars/symposia: Thursday, July 30, 2015

DTC Seminar Series

Sub-Nyquist Sampling: Bounds, Algorithms and Hardware


Yonina Eldar
Dept. of EE
Technion, Israel

Thursday, July 30, 2015
10:30 a.m. reception
11:00 a.m. seminar

401/402 Walter Library

Yonina C. Eldar

The famous Shannon-Nyquist theorem has become a landmark in the development of digital signal processing. However, in many modern applications, the signal bandwidths have increased tremendously, while the acquisition capabilities have not scaled sufficiently fast. Consequently, conversion to digital has become a serious bottleneck. Furthermore, the resulting high rate digital data requires storage, communication and processing at very high rates which is computationally expensive and requires large amounts of power.

In this talk, we present a framework for sampling and processing a wide class of wideband analog signals at rates far below Nyquist. We refer to this methodology as Xampling: A combination of compression and sampling, performed simultaneously. Using the Cramer-Rao bound we develop a generic low-rate sampling architecture that is optimal in a mean-squared error sense, and can be applied to a wide variety of wideband inputs. The resulting system can be readily implemented in hardware, and is easily modified to incorporate correlations between signals. We consider application of these ideas to a variety of problems including low rate ultrasound imaging, radar detection, and cognitive radio, and show several demos of real-time sub-Nyquist prototypes.


Yonina C. Eldar is a Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the Technion—Israel Institute of Technology, and holds the The Edwards Chair in Engineering. She has received many awards for excellence in research and teaching, including the Wolf Foundation Krill Prize for Excellence in Scientific Research, the Hershel Rich Innovation Award, the Michael Bruno Memorial Award from the Rothschild Foundation, the Weizmann Prize for Exact Sciences, the Muriel and David Jacknow Award for Excellence in Teaching, the IEEE Signal Processing Society Technical Achievement Award, the IEEE/AESS Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award, and the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award. She is the Editor in Chief of Foundations and Trends in Signal Processing and an IEEE Fellow. She is also a member of the Young Israel Academy of Science and the Israel Committee for Higher Education.