University of Minnesota
University Relations
myU OneStop

Go to unit's home.

Home | Seminars and Symposia | Past seminars/symposia: Monday, October 24, 2011

DTC Seminar Series



Patrick Flandrin
IEEE Fellow
Laboratoire De Physique
Lyon, France

Monday, October 24, 2011
3:30 p.m. reception
4:00 p.m. seminar

401/402 Walter Library

Patrick Flandrin image"Chirps", i.e., monocomponent amplitude and frequency modulated transient signals, are ubiquitous in natural and man-made systems. Their modeling and analysis require however some specific approaches that raise important problems that remain still partly open. Motivated by a number of examples (variable-length pendulum, Doppler effect, bat echolocation calls, gravitational waves, etc.), the purpose of this lecture is to give an overview of existing techniques aimed at their description. This includes (old and new) approaches to the concept of instantaneous frequency, localized time-frequency distributions as well as the recently introduced technique of empirical mode decomposition.


Patrick Flandrin received the engineer degree from ICPI Lyon, France, in 1978, and the Doct.-Ing. and Docteur d'Etat degrees from INP Grenoble, France, in 1982 and 1987, respectively. He joined CNRS in 1982, where he is currently a Research Director. Since 1991, he has been with the Signals, Systems, and Physics Group, Physics Department, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France. Prof. Flandrin has been a major contributor to the theory of (bilinear) Time-Frequency representations and non-stationary signal analysis. He played a major role in the developments of the wavelet theory and the analysis of fractional Brownian motion. Recently, he opened a new research direction studying the Empirical Mode Decomposition and revisiting stationarity with significant contributions on stationarity tests. Prof. Flandrin is author of the book titled, Time-Frequency/Time-Scale Analysis and has authored more than 250 journal and conference proceeding research articles. Prof. Flandrin has received several research awards including Philip Morris Prize in Mathematics (1991); SPIE Wavelet Pioneer Award (2001); "Prix Michel Monpetit" from the French Academy of Sciences (2001); and Silver Medal from CNRS (2010).