Go to unit's home.

Home | News and Announcements | Recent Awards

Recent Awards

Best Paper Award

DTC Researchers Dimitris Berberidis and Thanos Nikolakopoulos with Professor Georgios Giannakis won Best Paper Award at the 2018 International Workshop on Mining and Learning with Graphs. Read more

DTC Researchers Yang Zhang and Eman Ramadan

Yang Zhang and Eman Ramadanalong with DTC Professor Zhi-Li Zhang and CS&E alum Hesham Mekky (Ph.D. 2016), were awarded the Best Paper Award at the Asia-Pacific Workshop on Networking (APNET’17). More

DTC Researcher Shaden Smith

Ph.D. student Shaden Smith has received a 2017 ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial High Performance Computing Fellowship.

Smith along with DTC professor George Karypis receive Distinguished Paper Award at Euro-PAR 2017 for "Accelerating the Tucker Decomposition with Compressed Sparse Tensors." More on Smith

DTC Researcher Athanasios Nikolakopoulos

Dr. Athanasios Nikolakopoulos, a Research Associate of DTC, won the Best Paper Award at the IEEE International Conference on Big Knowledge (IEEE ICBK’17), Hefei, China, Aug.7-9, 2017. More

DTC Director Georgios Giannakis

Engineering Professor Georgios Giannakis awarded prestigious McKnight Presidential Endowed Chair. More on Giannakis

DTC Professor George Karypis

Professor Karypis has been selected as a recipient of the Distinguished McKnight University Professorship. This honor recognizes outstanding faculty members who have recently achieved full professor status. More.

Professors George Karypis, Joseph Konstan, John Riedl (posthumous), and former University of Minnesota Ph.D. student Badrul Sarwar, a 2001 Ph.D. graduate and current LinkedIn scientist, will receive the prestigious award for their paper entitled “Item-based collaborative filtering recommendation algorithms,” which was presented at the International World Wide Web Conference in 2001. The research is now regarded as the pioneering scholarly reference for recommender systems. More on Karypis